“I am the Messenger”

Sometimes I start reading a book that I can hardly put away, and this was the case this weekend. The book having such and impact on me was the young adult novel “I am the messenger” by Markus Zusak.

Markus Zusak is also the author of “The Book Thief” which is another great read this last year, and if it hadn’t been for “The Book Thief” I would never have discovered “I am the messenger”.

“I am the messenger” is about 19 year old Ed, an underage cabdriver without much of a future. But, after he inadvertently stops a bank robbery, things start happening. The first ace arrives in the mail, the ace of diamonds with three adresses on. Ed has a mission and from there in nothing happens as the reader expects. “Protect the diamonds, survive the clubs, dig deep through the spades, feel the hears”

Markus Zusak is also the author of the young adult novel “Getting the girl” and is now on the top of my “to read” list 🙂

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on February 18, 2008, in Literature/Books. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on “I am the Messenger”.

Comments are closed.

