Should I read the Twilight-books?

TwilightYesterday I visited one of the better bookstores in Bergen. I found both “The Lies of Locke Lamora” (which I’ve decided I just have to own) and book number 2 in the series called “Red Seas under Red Skies“. It was quite calm in there on an early Saturday so the lady at the register and I had some time to chat. We both agreed that  “The Hunger Games” (Dødslekene) is a “dead good” book, and I advertised the ones I was buying as best I could.

Then we started talking about  The Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer. The bookstore lady was an enthusiastic advocate and I was a very difficult customer. I haven’t read them. And I don’t want to! I thumbed through them while registering them at my library, and the little I’ve read have all my anti-goo-alarms ringing like crazy.  I know they’re more popular than Harry Potter (Sigh!), but that doesn’t make me want to read them. I had the same feeling when “Titanic” was showing at the movies  – I don’t want to be a part of this! (I watched it on TV a few years later, and I still think it’s OK never to have paid for a ticket to see it…and this is despite me adoring Kate Winslet).

I’ll never say never, but there is too much on my reading list for Stephenie Meyer to get me as a reader this year. If anyone has any really, really good arguments for me reading them they’d better tell me – I might listen.

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on April 26, 2009, in Literature/Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m reading them, and my really, really good reason for doing so is that my nearly-13-year-old daughter is batty about them and desperately wants me to read them too. She’s not so into me reading aloud now that she can read faster herself – but having a shared fictional experience to talk about is great help in staying close to a rapidly growing girl!

    Without a reason of this kind I wouldn’t recommend the books though. The first especially is insipid and annoying, with just endless stretches of teenaged longing. The second gets a bit more interesting – at least there’s some conflict going. I’m halfway through the third now, and certainly I’m quite enjoying them but they make Harry Potter look extremely complex, sophisticated and very, very well-written.

