Still reading

I don’t feel that I’m reading much these day, but when I look in my reading log I’m doing much better than a few years ago.

So here goes, a list of my reading the last 2 months, with short comments and links to the books on LibraryThing:

  • Graceling by Kristin Cashore – good fantasybook with a really tough female hero.
  • Full pott i hjerter by Svein Børge Hoftun – OK youth novel.
  • Steffen tar sin del av ansvaret by Christian Støre Valeur – quite funny book about a young man suffering emotional and environmental anguish, reminds me of Naiv.Super and other books by Erlend Loe.
  • Noe i meg er sterkere enn jeg by Astrid Høgevold – very good autobiographical book about growing up suffering from anorexia.
  • Tatt av kvinner (Eon 5) by Lars Lauvik – Eon is my favourite cartoon. Cartoons don’t come much more crazy and hilarious than this.
  • Nervous conditions by Tsitsi Dangarembga – very good novel about growing up in Rhodesia (now Zimbabwe) in the 60’s.
  • Opp i flammer / Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins – great second book in The Hunger Games series.
  • The Blue Girl by Charles de Lint – good youth fantasy novel. I like Charles de Lint and his urban fantasy novels, I should read more by him.
  • Song for Eirabu – Slaget på Vigrid by Kristine Tofte – really good fantasy novel with a norse mythology setting.
  • The Gone-Away World by Nick Harkaway – great science-fiction-, coming of age-, war-, love- and friendshipnovel. I love this.
  • Even Money by Dick Francis – I picked this up from the left behind shelf at our Gran Canaria hotel. With Dick Francis you know what you get and that’s ok for a lazy, sunny day.
  • The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss – fantasy-hero-novel which is a bit different since it’s the hero himself telling the story. It’s the first in a serie and I think I’ll read the next one too.
  • The Ask and The Answer (Chaos Walking 2) by Patrick Ness – I didn’t like this one quite as much as the first book, “The Knife of Never Letting Go“, but then I liked the first book a lot. I’ll read the next book too.
  • Bone 3 – Åndesirklene by Jeff Smith. Good ending to the Bone-series. Great drawings, interesting character and a suspenseful story.
About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on December 6, 2009, in Literature/Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Still reading.

Comments are closed.

