Joining NaBloPoMo and childhood dreams

In case you wonder, NaBloPoMo is National Blog Posting Month and the purpose is to blog at least once every day.  I’m usually more of a 1-2 times a week blogger so this is going to be a challenge.

Luckily NaBloPoMo also post a writing promt every day, and I’ll probably cling to that lifeline for dear life every time inspiration fails me.

Today writing promt is: When you were little, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I can’t remember wanting to become one special thing. I probably had lots of different dreams when I was really small, but learning to read broadened my horizons.  Mainly I wanted to have a job where I could travel, so a radio operator on a ship (they hardly exist any more), a travel guide, a flying doctor (except for the doctor part) or preferably an astronaut or even better a librarian on a library space ship. Being a very down to earth child I fairly quickly realised that the astronaut job was not easily available for a chubby Norwegian girl. So, I went with the radio operator gig, even getting the qualifications. But, by that time I’d spent a year as an exchange student in LA and satisfied my worst travelling needs, so I never worked as a radio operator.

I finally ended up as a librarian, and even worked for about 10 years in a job where part om my job was to work about 4 weeks every year on the western Norwegian floating library, the bookboat Epos. I now do my travelling when I have a vacation and every time I read a book.

Still, if someone offered me a berth on a space ship I’d take it in a second.

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on June 1, 2010, in Just life, Libraries and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Joining NaBloPoMo and childhood dreams.

Comments are closed.

