My dad

Today’s NaBloPoMo promt is something that is hard to write about:
What’s the first thing that pops into your mind when you think of your father?

That he almost always had a tan from working outdoors a lot. That his bark was a lot worse than his bite. That he rolled his eyes and hid a smile listening to his adult childrens verbal antics.  That he threw us in to swim or sink, but that he was ready with a life vest if we needed one. That he always supported us, even when he thought we made strange choices. That he was a good husband and father.

I miss my father. He died suddenly in January last year. He said goodbye to my mother and went off to play bridge at his bridge club. While playing he suffered a cerebral haemorrhage and was in a coma before anyone in the family could get to him.

After the first few days I did most of my crying while driving alone in my car. Not good for road safety.

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on June 4, 2010, in Just life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on My dad.

Comments are closed.

