Monday morsel – The City & The City by China Miéville

The City & The City by China Miéville just won the 2010 World Fantasy Award for best novel. And it really is very, very good. Here’s a morsel:

“Ul Qomans I shoved out of the way: Besz tried to unsee me but had to scurry to get out of my path. I saw their startled looks. I moved faster than the killer. I kept my eyes not on him but looking at some spot or other in Ul Qoma that put him in my field of vision. I tracked him without focusing, just legally. I crossed the plaza and two Ul Qoman militsya I passed called some tentative query at me which I ignored.” (s. 284)

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on November 29, 2010, in Literature/Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Monday morsel – The City & The City by China Miéville.

Comments are closed.

