December 28th – 2011 Reading Goals

This is the time for summing up the old year and making resolutions for the new year. Inspired by several bloggers, including Migrating Coconuts (I just adore the name), Stines notater, Lesehesten fra Sørlandet and Silje I have made my own list of reading goals for 2011. It’s not a very ambitious list, but I think it can be nice to have. Now I just have to follow it and remember to sum it up in a year.

  1. Start reading all the books in my to-be-read-pile and don’t finish the ones I don’t like. This is a part of “10 Inalienable Rights of the Reader” by Daniel Pennac, but I quite often need reminding.
  2. Watch less tv and read more.
  3. Read at least 2 collections of short stories – I like short stories but usually it takes me forever to get through a collection, so I figured 2 was enough.
  4. Read the nynorsk versions of The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings. (Internal Norwegian language squabble.)
  5. Read at least 3 non-fiction books.
  6. Don’t let my pile of books-to-blog-about get higher than 2 books – this is going to be hard, so I really need this resolution.
  7. Read at least one book with a story from each of the continents and some with the story taking place on another planet – I think South-America was missing this year, but other than that I did good.
  8. Read the books I want to read and not give up any of them for books I feel I ought to read.
  9. Keep on reading as much as possible in English – good for my language skills and there’s also so many more titles to choose between.
  10. Whine less to my dearest about boring language almost every time I read a book in bokmål, it’s not her fault that she grew up in Bergen. (Internal Norwegian language squabble.)
About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on December 28, 2010, in Literature/Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

