Booking Through Thursday – Heavy

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme in which we answer a question about books or reading.

This week’s question is: What’s the largest, thickest, heaviest book you ever read? Was it because you had to? For pleasure? For school?

The longest must be Kristin Lavransdatter by Sigrid Undset. It beat out  The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien and  Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell by a few pages. (At least the editions I checked came out with them in this order.)

They were all read for pleasure. The only one I can remember where I was when I first read it is Kristin Lavransdatter. It was read on an interrail vacation in Europe with my sister in 1989. I needed a thick book so I’d have something to read on the whole trip. This plan failed miserably as I finished it in Italy. I then had to search for hours before I finally found a place that had any books in English. Books in Norwegian was totally out of the question.

It is a really good book and it earned Sigrid Undset The Nobel Prize  Literature. Certainly not light reading.

The only one of the books I’ve reread is The Lord of the Rings. I’ve also listened to it as an audio book and seen the movies.



About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on January 27, 2011, in Literature/Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Kristin Lavransdatter sounds like a really interesting story and you have a really nice story to go along with reading it.

  2. I’ve read Kristin Lavransdatter but that was long ago and I don’t have the book. Gone with the Wind was in my thoughts but same thing with that one. I put some others in my answer… http://dawntreader-island2.blogspot.com/2011/01/booking-through-thursday-largest.html

  3. LOTR was a heavy read for me. Here is my answer to this week’s Booking Through Thursday.

