Monday morsel – Rivers of London

Downbelow Station, last week’s morsel, got ignored this week as my friend Thomas pushed Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch into my hands. (For some odd reason it’s called “Midnight Riot” in the US.) I’m almost finished and I’m having a really good time with it.

And now, the morsel:

“Is that true?” asked Lesley?
“Which bit?” I asked.
“Spells, food, obligations, wizards – the bailiff,” said Lesley. “For God’s sake, Peter, that’s false imprisonment at the very least.”
“Some of it’s true,” I said. “I don’t know how much, I think becoming a wizard is about discovering what’s real and what isn’t.”
“Is her mum really the goddess of the Thames?”
“She thinks she is, and I’ve met her and I’m beginning to think she might be,” I said. “She’s got real power, so I’m going to treat her daughter as the real thing until I find out different.”

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on January 31, 2011, in Literature/Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Monday morsel – Rivers of London.

Comments are closed.

