Monday Morsel – Crossfire

The morsel this Monday comes from the novel Crossfire by Dick & Felix Francis. Dick Francis has written a string of crime novels from the English steeplechasing milieu and this is the last of theese novels as he died in 2010.

“Please don’t be annoyed with me,” I said in my most calming way. “I’m here to help you.”
Her shoulders drooped and she slumped onto a chair at the kitchen table.
“I’m tired,” she said. “I don’t fell I can carry on.”
“What, with the training?”
“With life,” she said.
(p.88)

So far it’s fast paced and exciting, what you’d expect from a Dick Francis novel.

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on February 21, 2011, in Literature/Books, Quotes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Monday Morsel – Crossfire.

Comments are closed.

