Booking through Thursday: Something Old, Something New

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme in which we answer a question about books or reading.

This week’s meme is:

All other things being equal–do you prefer used books? Or new books? (The physical speciman, that is, not the title.) Does your preference differentiate between a standard kind of used book, and a pristine, leather-bound copy?

If I can choose I prefer new books. They’re clean.

I’ve never been one who hunts throught used bookstores or flea markets looking for old copies of books I like. I’ve never cared a bit about leather-bindings or anything like that. The only thing that would make me go for the old leather-bound copy when there was a newer one around would be if someone with the knowhow told me that I could get a very valuable book for a very low price. Hey, I’m that shallow.

Sure, I can fall for a nice book cover as well as the next person, but then it’s more the image than the material. To be honest I care mostly about what’s inside the book and that they don’t start shedding pages as soon as they’ve been opened. So, I’m as happy with the books on my Kindle as the ones on our bookshelves.

I must add that I don’t need to own all the books I read. I borrow more from the library than I buy and like the idea of library books being a shared experience with people I don’t know.

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on February 24, 2011, in Literature/Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I don’t care about them being old, but I’m the same when it comes to pages falling out. I don’t think anyone needs that when they’re trying to read. Or dirty books.

  2. I agree with you, I like new books, but have a lot of used books also. Actually I like books, old, new, used or otherwise.

  3. I can relate to these thoughts…it’s important that they be in good condition…and as for used bookstores or flea markets, I can’t remember the last time I went to one….

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

  4. Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog.

    You’re right, the content is more important than the cover. However, most of us (including me), really like aesthetics and would really want to have nice covers that would protect our books. Just not those leather-bound ones – expensive!

  5. Thanks for visiting my blog. I also borrow the majority of the books I read. If I buy a book, I buy new.

