Book beginnings on Friday: Feb.25th 2011

Book Beginnings on Friday is a bookish meme sponsored by Katy at A Few More Pages. Here’s what you do: share the first line (or two) of the book you are currently reading on your blog or in the comments section . Include the title and author so we know what you’re reading. Then, if you are so moved, let us know what your first impressions were based on that first line, and if you liked or did not like that sentence. Link-up each week at Katy’s place.

My beginning this week comes from The Maze Runner by James Dashner.

He began his new life standing up, surrounded by cold darkness and stale, dusty air.

I’ve long since decided that I would eventually get around to reading The Maze Runner. After that decision was made the book has popped up as a nominee for all sorts of different awards, so I guess it’s about time I got started. So far I’ve only read the first line, and it’s intriguing. I have a few pages in another book to finish and then I’ll get straight back to this one.

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on February 25, 2011, in Literature/Books, Quotes. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. This one is on my TBR list as well, I hope you enjoy it

  2. Well that’s an interesting beginning to a new life….

    Here’s mine: http://myreadersblock.blogspot.com/2011/02/book-beginnings-on-friday_25.html

  3. This one sat on my TBR stack for months before I decided to donate it to my HS media center unread. My students seem to be loving it though. Happy reading!

  4. This does sound good…I love the beginning…it’s visual and symbolic.

    Here’s MY FRIDAY MEMES POST

  5. I keep meaning to read this one too. I’ve seen some rave reviews for it. Happy reading! And thanks for participating in Book Beginnings!

  6. We chose the same book for this BBF! But mine in spanish 😉
    If you want to read the same line in spanish, you can find it here: BBF: El corredor del laberinto

  7. Yeah, I noticed. That’s kind of funny 🙂

