Booking through Thursday: Cheating

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme in which we answer a question about books or reading.

This week’s meme is:

Do you cheat and peek at the ends of books? (Come on, be honest.)

Yes, quite often!

I sometimes try not to, but if I start getting interested in the book get all antsy until I have an inkling about how the story ends.

I never start with peeking at the ending, it always happens some way into the book. The books I don’t peek in are the ones where I’m simply not very interested, so mostly it’s a bad sign for the book that I don’t care enough to peek.

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on March 3, 2011, in Literature/Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Wow we are quite the opposite … I never peek. I can’t bring myself to do it and if I did do it there would be something horrendously wrong with the book.

  2. sometimes I do look ahead, but I don’t consider it cheating.

  3. Ah, there are certainly circumstances….but generally “no.”

    Here’s MY BOOKING THROUGH THURSDAY POST

  4. Same here, I peek too but never before I start the book always somewhere near the middle.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/03/booking-through-thursday-8.html

  5. That’s interesting, your reason for peeking is almost the opposite of mine! The more I’m enjoying a book the less likely I am to peek for fear of ruining it.

  6. Some other people have mentioned that they peek less when they read ebooks, and I guess it’s the same with me. It’s just too much of a hassle on the Kindle 🙂

  7. Heey
    Thanks for stepping by! I also can’t peak on my Kindle, because I always forget what page I was on before!
    Hope you have a great weekend!!
    Juli @ Universe in Words

  8. I like your point of view!!! I had to chuckle at the last sentence.

    Thanks for visiting and commenting on my blog today.

