Saturday snapshot – Fishing

I took this photo in April 2007 on a trip with the bookboat Epos. Epos is a mobile library on keel instead of on wheels and takes two trips around the county every year. It was great being a book boat librarian a few weeks every year, a different way to see Hordaland county than going on the roads. This is the one part of my old job that I miss in my current job. My dad owned and captained a coastal freight ship, so I grew up seeing the west coast from the sea. Now I look around all I can every time I’m on a ferry.

Fishing

Fishing

Saturday snapshot

This meme is hosted by Alyce from At Home With Books

To participate in Saturday Snapshot meme post a photo that you (or a friend or family member) have taken. Photos can be old or new, and can be of any subject as long as they are clean and appropriate for all eyes to see. How much detail you give in the caption is entirely up to you. All Alyce asks is that you don’t post random photos that you find online.

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on March 19, 2011, in Photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. What a beautiful photo — and what a beautiful place to be!

  2. Love that picture! What an experience to be a book boat librarian!

  3. Hi!
    Beautiful snapshot. My hubby would appreciate this one. He’s a fisherman. Have a great day!

    Sherrie
    Just Books

  4. The water looks so gorgeous in the photo….almost like a painting. Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY SATURDAY SNAPSHOT POST

  5. I’ve never heard of a book boat before – it sounds great! I’m wondering how the books were kept dry. πŸ™‚

  6. I love that there are book boats! I had no idea. What was the boat’s name?

  7. Gorgeous shot! And what a cool idea…a book boat.

    Here’s my snapshot: http://myreadersblock.blogspot.com/2011/03/saturday-snapshot-march-19.html

  8. The boat is called Epos (epic poem) and was build to be a book boat. The books are kept dry indoors, but sometimes fall out of the shelves in really rough weather πŸ™‚ More information on Epos (in English) can be found here: http://www.bokbaten.no/index.php?action=static&id=17

  9. Now that’s a beautiful view!! How I’d love to live where there was a book boat! Two of my very favorite things, water and books.

    You can visit my Saturday Snapshot HERE

  10. Thanks for sharing the link to more information about the boat! I never would have guessed that it was so big. What a neat way to get books! πŸ™‚

  11. Oh my gosh, that would be a fun job to have!

  12. Boat book librarian must look great on your CV! πŸ™‚
    What a great way to see the island.
    carol

  13. We have bookmobiles in some communities but a book boat takes it to a whole new level. And lovely photo of the sea.

