Weekly photo challenge: Spring

I found this challenge hard. Mostly because spring hasn’t got that far here yet, and every time I decided to go out to look for plants coming out of the ground it was raining.

Then, last night, my sister and I drove up to our golf club to plan the season with the other ladies on the ladies group committee. That’s usually when I really get the spring feeling, and that happened this year too.

The course isn’t green yet, but our green keeper had planted some samples with different grass from some of the greens and one of the tees. Apparently they have different kinds of grass, I really don’t know. So far the samples look a bit straggly, I hope the grass outside looks better when it starts growing.

Anyway, in a month we start the season. Spring is coming.

Grass samples in pots at Bjørnefjorden Golf Club

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on March 24, 2011, in Photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What is the day/night cycle like this time of year where you are? Recently I viewed a photo tour of Moscow and St. Petersburg (from 2009), and the author noted with surprise that nightfall only lasted a few short hours. That surprised me, too — I thought seasonal fluctuations like that only happened RIGHT at the poles.

    Though I suppose I should not be too surprised: sunset drifts to 20:00 here during the summer months, and Alabama is considerably closer to the equator than Russia or Norway.

  2. Basically it’s like this:
    Winter – northern hemisphere has shorter days and longer nights than the southern hemispere. The further north you get the shorter the days and longer the night. The poles really have 6 months of day and 6 months of night, but there is a period around the equinoxes (March 20/21 and September 22/23) when they have twilight.
    I’m at 60 degrees north, at mid-winter we have sun for less than 6 hours every day and at mid-summer we have sun for more than 18 hours every day. It’s a big difference, and further north the difference is even bigger. Wikipedia has more. 🙂

