Saturday snapshot – Unexpected beauty

This has been a hard week. Too busy and not feeling quite well is never a good combination.

Yesterday was my grandmother’s funeral. As funerals go it was very nice. Lots of people remembering a lady who’d lived a long and mostly good life. There were flowers, as there always are. Pretty flowers that I have pictures of. But the unexpected pretty thing that I happened to notice while walking out of the graveyard were these fungi, growing on a tree stump. The flowers on her grave will wilt, but my grandmothers will always rest in ground that gives life to new growing things, be it fungi, grass, moss, heather, trees or flowers.

Fungi at the graveyard in Haugsdal

Saturday snapshot

This meme is hosted by Alyce from At Home With Books

To participate in Saturday Snapshot meme post a photo that you (or a friend or family member) have taken. Photos can be old or new, and can be of any subject as long as they are clean and appropriate for all eyes to see. How much detail you give in the caption is entirely up to you. All Alyce asks is that you don’t post random photos that you find online.

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on April 2, 2011, in Photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Sorry to hear about your loss. It’s never easy, but it sounds like you have a great attitude.

  2. I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. These are beautiful fungi, and I love that you have such a positive outlook!

  3. Those are beautiful! I have a collection of photos I took of interesting roots around some older trees. Isn’t it amazing what’s out there when we stop and look? So sorry about your grandmother’s passing. Take care.

  4. So sorry about your loss…I like the idea, though, of life going on around us in new and growing things. What a beautiful photo! Thanks for sharing.

    And thanks for visiting my blog.

  5. Wonderful photo on a sad day, Love that you look at the wonders of nature around your grandmother’s resting place. I’m just blown away that you had the presence of mind to bring your camera. Giving you a big HUG.

  6. I’m sorry for your loss. I also love how you find beauty in nature in non-traditional ways. Its so easy to miss the fungi for the flowers especially when you are distracted with memories.

  7. Sorry to hear of the loss of your grandmother.

    That photo is certainly an example of beauty in unexpected places.

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Hope you have a pleasant weekend.

  8. I am sorry to hear about your loss. But I do love how you managed to find something so alive, even in the graveyard. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Sorry to hear about your grandmother. Your fungi shot is awesome!

  10. I’m so sorry about your grandmother. I’m glad you were able to find a small bit of joy on such a sad day.

  11. Sorry about the loss of your grandmother. But very nice to find something lovely on that day. The fungi look just like shells.

    Here’s my snapshot: http://myreadersblock.blogspot.com/2011/04/saturday-snapshot.html

  12. Sorry to hear about the loss of you Grandmother, but that photo is beautiful and what you said is so true.

  13. Thank you all for the nice comments. She will be remembered.

    I’m trying to be better at bringing my camera at all times, and as several relatives asked for copies of whatever I took during the funeral, I guess it’s a good idea.

