Booking through Thursday: Visual

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme in which we answer a question about books or reading.

This week’s meme is: So … the books that you own (however many there may be) … do you display them proudly right there in plain sight for all the world to see? (At least the world that comes into your living room.) Or do you keep them tucked away in your office or bedroom or library or closet or someplace less “public?”

Our apartment isn’t that big, so the books are where ever there’s room. In the living room you’ll find dvd’s, cd’s and books about cooking, knitting, needlepoint, photography and other hobbies. The TBR-shelves are also in the living room, overflowing.

The rest of the books are spread around. In our bedroom you’ll find non-fiction and cartoons, in the guest room you’ll find fiction and photo albums, and in the hall you’ll find fiction, travel guides and maps.

And then there are the books laying around the tables, there are always some. My Kindle is also usually to be found in plain view.

In my opinion books aren’t meant to be hid away and I my first thought upon entering a home where no books are visible is: What’s wrong with these people????

No picture of our books, but instead you’ll get the view from my room at Brakanes Hotel in Ulvik 🙂

View from Brakanes Hotel in Ulvik


About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on April 7, 2011, in Just life, Literature/Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Lol I totally think that too when I go to people’s houses and there are no books. What do they do with their time?
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/04/booking-through-thursday-12.html

  2. A house without books is creepy. Plus, why hide books if you like to read. Space, however can present a problem. My BTT: http://beyondstrangenewwords.blogspot.com/2011/04/booking-through-thursday-visual.html

  3. There’s a good feeling when you see books in a home, I agree.

    Stop and see mine and my giveaways.

  4. I love the fact that each room has it’s own category of books. Fantastic way to organise them.

  5. I agree. There’s no reason to hide books.

  6. Hey, I’m a librarian. Organizing books are in my bones, I just can’t help it 😉

  7. I like to display my books. Check out my answer for this week’s Booking Through Thursday

