Book beginnings on Friday: May 20th 2011

Book Beginnings on Friday is a bookish meme sponsored by Katy at A Few More Pages.

Here’s what you do: share the first line (or two) of the book you are currently reading on your blog or in the comments section . Include the title and author so we know what you’re reading. Then, if you are so moved, let us know what your first impressions were based on that first line, and if you liked or did not like that sentence. Link-up each week at Katy’s place.

This Friday my beginning is from a YA urban fantasy book by Charles de Lint that I’ve been planning to read for a long time. I’ve finally started it, and here’s the beginning of The Onion Girl:

The Onion Girl by Charles de LintNewford, April 1999

Once upon a time…
        I don’t know what makes me turn. Some sixth sense, prickling the hairs at the nape of my neck. I see the headlights. They fill my world and I fell like a deer, trapped in their glare. I can’t move. The car starts to swerve away from me, but it’s already too late.
       It’s weird how everythig falls into slow motion. there seems to be time to do anything and everything, and yet no time at all. I wait for my life to flash before my eyes, but all I get is those headlights bearing down on me.
       There’s the squeal of tires.
       A rush of wind in my ears.
       And then the impact.

Do I want to keep reading? Heck, yeah!

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on May 20, 2011, in Literature/Books, Quotes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Wow – I don’t think I’d be able to put it down, particularly if the rest of the story continues like this!
    Here’s mine:
    http://thebookgatherer.blogspot.com/2011/05/book-beginningson-friday_20.html

  2. OMG! That is an awesome beginning…so suspenseful. I love when suspenseful moments are written in the first person…we are then pulled right into the very heart of the moment.

    Here’s MY FRIDAY MEMES POST

  3. Hello Eva,

    Urban Fantasy is not a genre that I have ever attempted to read, although I have recently tried a Paranormal Romance and quite enjoyed that.

    Your first lines were so gripping that I really felt that I would like to give this book a try, so I checked out your link to the full synopsis.

    It started off great and I was all set to add the book to my list, but then there was talk of wolves and the whole thing started to unravel for me and I lost interest.

    I promise that I will try to read something from the genre, from beginning to end, just to see if it is my narrow mindedness that stops me from trying something new.

    What would you recommend as a good first book for me to start with?

  4. Oh wow. That sucked me in.
    Great one.

    If you have a chance, check out my BBF🙂

  5. Yep, that one will grab you! 🙂

  6. Ooh, I feel like I’m being pulled into the story. That’s a really great intro.

  7. I’ve heard great things about this, and that beginning is gripping! Ah, my poor TBR mountain just got a little heavier.

    Thanks for participating in Book Beginnings!

