Booking through Thursday – Rut

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme in which we answer a question about books or reading.

This week the question is: Do you ever feel like you’re in a reading rut? That you don’t read enough variety? That you need to branch out, spread your literary wings and explore other genres, flavors, styles?

Not really. I quite often feel that I don’t read enough, but I feel that I do have a variety. I do read a lot of so call genre literature, mostly science fiction and fantasy, but I also read YA books of different kinds and adult novels by different authors about different things. For a while I didn’t read much crime as I got really tired of it, but now I’ve started reading it again. I also like reading short stories.

There are also things I actively avoid, like romances and other typical “women’s” books, (In Norway this is called “pink” literature, and it’s not my cup of tea at all), and I just don’t seem to get along too well with poetry.

I’m sure I could branch out more than I do, but I do read for enjoyment and don’t see the need to read something that don’t appeal to me.

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on May 26, 2011, in Literature/Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Poetry is the one thing I could never get into. When we used to have to read it for school I could never understand it.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/05/booking-through-thursday-19.html

  2. I agree, I won’t read something if it doesn’t appeal to me. But I admit I am curious to read other types of books just to see what they’re like or why they’re so popular. But if I try them and don’t like them, then I’m not going to continue reading something similar.

  3. “I do read for enjoyment and don’t see the need to read something that don’t appeal to me. ”

    I fully agree!

