Saturday snapshot – in memory of Silje

As a school librarian I meet all our students when they check out their textbooks on the first few days of school. Some I don’t see again before they turn their books back in and others I see and talk to every day they are at school.

Silje lived a large part of her out-of-class life at the school library, always in the company of friends. She totally approved of my cell phone ring tone (a song by Kaizers Orchestra), she much preferred Draco Malfoy to Harry Potter and wanted to be in Slytherin house at Hogwarts. She was popular, outgoing, temperamental and interested in lots of different things. When she learned that I was changing jobs and was going to leave Askøy vgs. to start working at another high school, she told me that that was a really bad idea as I would be leaving her and her friends. On June 20th 2011 she took her dog Odin on a school hike and afterwards they both hung out in the library while waiting for the bus home. As you see from the picture Odin did a little sniffing around the piles of textbooks lying all over the place.

On July 22nd 2011 Silje was one of almost 70 people killed in the massacre at Utøya.

Rest in peace Silje.

Saturday snapshot

This meme is hosted by Alyce from At Home With Books

To participate in Saturday Snapshot meme post a photo that you (or a friend or family member) have taken. Photos can be old or new, and can be of any subject as long as they are clean and appropriate for all eyes to see. How much detail you give in the caption is entirely up to you. All Alyce asks is that you don’t post random photos that you find online.

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on July 30, 2011, in Just life, Photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. What a terrible tragedy, a nightmare. I don’t know what more to say, as words don’t seem adequate. Thank you for sharing this photo.

    Rest In Peace to all of the victims, and may all those affected find comfort and strength.

    Take care.

  2. What a touching story and photo; how very sad.

  3. What a beautiful tribute. Thank you for sharing this with us.

  4. My condolences to you all who knew Silje.

  5. Oh, what a wonderful post and such a nice tribute to a wonderful young woman. I’m glad you got to know her during her time in your life.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY SATURDAY SNAPSHOT

    I like your new blog look!

  6. My heart goes out for her family….

    Wonderful tribute and a beautiful photo of her to share with us….

    Here is my Saturday Snapshot post!

  7. I’m so sorry to hear about the loss of your friend and student. Thank you for making that tragedy real for the rest of us who think about it as anonymous people in a far away place.

  8. I am so sorry to hear this. That was such a tragic event … it touches all of us where ever we may be on this planet. Thank you for sharing a lovely tribute.

  9. I’m so sorry. Thank you for sharing this lovely tribute.

  10. Oh my goodness that is so sad. Thank you for telling us about her. It was such a tragic event but over here we don’t get to here much about the individuals who died.

  11. What a lovely tribute to a lovely young woman. Such a horrible tragedy–it is hard to take it in when one isn’t directly involved. Thank you for making it more personal for us.

  12. How awful! Thanks for sharing this with us.
    Here’s Mine

  13. Thank you for sharing such a special young lady with us. How sad her life was cut so short, My most sincere sympathies go out to you.

  14. What a horrific tragedy. My heart goes out to you and her friends and family – and how kind of you to share this with all of us. My thoughts are with you.

