Book beginnings on Friday – Un Lun Dun

Book Beginnings on Friday is a bookish meme sponsored by Katy at A Few More Pages.

Here’s what you do: share the first line (or two) of the book you are currently reading on your blog or in the comments section . Include the title and author so we know what you’re reading. Then, if you are so moved, let us know what your first impressions were based on that first line, and if you liked or did not like that sentence. Link-up each week at Katy’s place.

My beginning this week is from Un Lun Dun av China Míeville Un Lun Dun by China Míeville.

In an unremarkable room, in a nondescript building, a man sat working on very non-nondescript theories.
The man was surrounded by bright chemicals in bottles and flasks, charts and gauges, and piles of books like battlements around him. He propped them open on each other. He cross-referred them, seeming to read several at the same time; he pondered, made notes, crossed the notes out, went hunting for facts of history, chemistry and geography.

I think it’s a good beginning. I do want to know what the man is working on, and why. Also, I dearly love the cover.

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on August 19, 2011, in Literature/Books, Quotes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. That’s a great teaser! I love the picture it paints for me.

  2. “Who built Thebes of the seven gates?
    In the books you will find the names of kings.
    Did the kings haul up the lumps of rock?
    And Babylon, many times demolished,
    Who raised it up so many times? In what houses
    Of gold-glittering Lima did the builders live?”

    A People’s History of the World, Chris Harman. This is the first few lines of a poem that introduces the book, which is a history of the “common people” of the world. Good start. Right now I’m in the European dark ages.

  3. Hi Eva,

    Those first few lines really had me intrigued and reaching for my reading list, to add the title.

    Then I decided to check out the full synopsis and realised that it was a fantasy novel, which is not one of my favourite genres, so this probably isn’t the book for me, despite the great beginning.

    There is an alternative cover on Amazon.co.uk but yours is the spookiest by far.

  4. It’s the cover on my copy. I love the jumping trash can. No novels are for everyone, that’s part of the beauty of it.

