Saturday snapshot – On the Llangollen Canal

Today I have more pictures from our vacation in Wales and England.

We rented a 68 feet long narrowboat called Tanglewood for two weeks. We picked it up in Trevor, close to Llangollen, and set out for Chester.

Tanglewood on the Llangollen Canal

Tanglewood on the Llangollen Canal

There's not much room when you pass under a bridge on The Llangollen Canal

There's not much room when you pass under a bridge on The Llangollen Canal

A calm day on The Llangollen Canal

A calm day on The Llangollen Canal

Saturday snapshotThis meme is hosted by Alyce from At Home With Books

To participate in Saturday Snapshot meme post a photo that you (or a friend or family member) have taken. Photos can be old or new, and can be of any subject as long as they are clean and appropriate for all eyes to see. How much detail you give in the caption is entirely up to you. All Alyce asks is that you don’t post random photos that you find online.

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on August 27, 2011, in Photos, Travelling, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Oh, these are great photos! They make me want to go there….sigh.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY SATURDAY SNAPSHOT

  2. Okay…I think my comment disappeared. I’ll try again, but if the first one also shows up…well.

    Anyway, love the photos. The canal is gorgeous!

    Here’s MY SATURDAY SNAPSHOT

  3. I’ve always wondered what that kind of trip would be like. Did you enjoy it?

  4. Looks like a beautiful adventure! The greens are so fresh and alive.
    🙂

  5. Beautiful pictures – I love that third one especially!

  6. I love these – looks like such a terrific thing to experience.

  7. Those are lovely pictures! The canals in Amsterdam are great, but they’ve gotten very dirty. Not nearly as nice to look at.

    My Snapshot is here.

  8. What a fantastic vacation! All my relatives live in the UK so the photos are very familiar and inviting to me

  9. We loved our vacation, and we’re planning to go again another year 🙂

  10. That is so picturesque. I’ve never seen a boat that narrow. I need to get out more.

  11. What a neat boat! I’d love to vacation like that!
    Here’s My Photo

  12. How does anyone know how to operate one of those boats? I’m sure I would have rammed something. Good for you though, doing something daring and out of the ordinary.

  13. Those are gorgeous! I wouldn’t have thought of renting a boat like that for vacation. You must have had such a great time!

  14. Fascinating pictures and your trip looks like it was a great one. Thanks for sharing.

  15. That looks like such a great trip! And what an unusual looking boat!

    here’s mine: http://myreadersblock.blogspot.com/2011/08/saturday-snapshot-august-27.html

  16. This looks like a great getaway! Lovely pics too.

  17. Wonderful pictures! It looks so beautiful there. I would love to visit England one day. =]

