The leaning lamp

Some time ago, close to the end of July, we ordered a lamp from a store in Bergen. It’s called Totem, and we know it’s cool because we saw it in the Woody Allen movie Midnight in Paris after we ordered it.

Leaning Totem lampThis week it arrived at the store and yesterday I walked over to pick it up. Then I carried the two separate boxes, one of them at least 2 meters long, through the whole center of Bergen.  Did I mention that it was raining? Well, it was. And my hands were too busy carrying the lamp to hold an umbrella.  When I got to the car I had to move the passenger seat all the way forward to fit it in, our car being barely big enough for things like this.  Then I did the other things I’d planned to do while in town, one of them was voting in the local election. Go Democracy!

Having done my civic duty, and spent some more money, I drove home and carried the lamp inside. By then the rain was pouring down.

Then I unpacked and assembled the lamp, eagerly helped by Solan who was trying to play with the boxes and all the plastic.

From one side it looks fabulous, from every other angle it’s leaning, quite a lot. Aaaarghh!!!

The store has been informed and told us to send pictures. I have obliged. We shall see what happens.

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on September 7, 2011, in Just life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Well, the leaning tower in Pisa is quite famous, isn’t it…? Who knows, maybe you own the next attraction? 🙂

  2. It’s hard, stickint to the image of ‘The lady with the lamp’. Hope Florence had something lighter…

  3. Oh, don’t you hate when that happens? I like your mention of the Woody Allen movie…I loved that movie, BTW.

  4. We loved the movie too 🙂

  5. Beautiful lamp even when leaning…hope they send you a new one for free that is not leaning…

  6. I agree that the sighting in Midnight in Paris definitely gives the lamp cachet. I like it.

  7. One of my daughters saw Midnight in Paris a few weeks ago and thought I’d like it. I’ll have to see if it’s still playing in my area. Hope you can get the lamp situation straightened out (sorry, couldn’t resist).

  8. Oh no! It’s very nice other than the leaning. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Saturday Snapshot – Solan dozing « Mostraum Viewpoint

