Book beginnings on Friday – Trapped

Book Beginnings on Friday is a bookish meme sponsored by Katy at A Few More Pages.

Here’s what you do: share the first line (or two) of the book you are currently reading on your blog or in the comments section . Include the title and author so we know what you’re reading. Then, if you are so moved, let us know what your first impressions were based on that first line, and if you liked or did not like that sentence. Link-up each week at Katy’s place.

Trapped by Michael NorthropMy beginning this week is from Trapped by Michael Northrop.

We were the last seven kids waiting around to get picked up fram Tattawa Regional High School. It sounds like an everyday thing, but this wasn’t an ordinary day. It was one of those bull’s-eyes in history, one of those points where everything comes together, where, if you were at that place at that time, you were part of something big. It meant that we weren’t going to get picked up, not on that day and maybe not ever.

I know this will be about snow, the cover leaves no doubt. A bit of a dismaying thought as we’re heading towards winter in these northern latitudes. I also have a feeling that it’ll be fairly claustrophobic. So far, it looks fairly good. We’ll see.


About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on September 23, 2011, in Literature/Books, Quotes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hi Eva,

    This is not an author that I have come across before, but I have already added ‘trapped’ to my reading list.

    The first few lines were enough for me to want to know more and when I did cheat a little and checked out the full synopsis, I knew for certain that this was my kind of book.

    Amazon.co.uk have an alternative cover, which I think is even a little more scary than the one you have highlighted, it gives ‘trapped’ a whole new seriousness!!!

    Good choice of story, have a great weekend

  2. Hi Eva,
    Thanks for visiting my blog. Trapped sounds interesting.

  3. I’ve been thinking about making this one of my winter reads. Sounds kind of suspenseful?

    Thanks for participating in Book Beginnings!

