Booking through Thursday – Loud

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme in which we answer a question about books or reading.

1. What do you think of reading aloud/being read to? Does it bring back memories of your childhood? Your children’s childhood?

I sometimes listen to e-books while driving, but not much at other times. When I can I prefer to read myself, it’s faster. I liked being read for before I could read myself, but I quickly started prefering to read myself after I’d learned how to.

2. Does this affect the way you feel about audio books?

I guess. If I listen to audio books it’s quite often books that I’ve already read. Then I have the patience to enjoy it if is’s a good narrator. For example I loved listening to Stephen Fry reading the Harry Potter books, but I would have found it too slow going if I hadn’t already read them.

3. Do you now have times when you read aloud or are read to?

Not often. If someone reads to me it’s my partner reading something from a newspaper or a web site. I sometimes read the same sorts of things to her and I sometimes read her favorite passages from books too.


About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on September 29, 2011, in Literature/Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi Eva,

    As soon as I was able to read for myself, I was no longer interested in bedtime stories, or being read to by my parents.

    I have never like audio books, much preferring to read a book for myself.

    I do think that wherever possible though, the author of a book should read their own audiobook, as they know exactly how the story should sound, which words should be emphasised etc.

    Sometimes my husband will read aloud an email, or news or work related article and vice versa, but I have to say that we both find it intensely annoying!!

