Book beginnings on Friday – The Floating Islands

Book Beginnings on Friday is a bookish meme sponsored by Katy at A Few More Pages.

Here’s what you do: share the first line (or two) of the book you are currently reading on your blog or in the comments section . Include the title and author so we know what you’re reading. Then, if you are so moved, let us know what your first impressions were based on that first line, and if you liked or did not like that sentence. Link-up each week at Katy’s place.

The Floating Islands by Rachel NeumeierEarlier today I started reading The Floating Islands by Rachel Neumeier. Here it is:

Trei was fourteen the first time he saw the Floating Islands. He had made the whole long voyage south from Rounn in a haze of loss and misery, not really noticing the harbors in which the ship sometimes anchored or the sea between. But here, where both sea and sky lay pearl-gray in the dawn, the wonder of the Floating Islands broke at last into that haze.

It was the wonderful cover that first made me interested in reading this book, but now I’m wondering about Trei’s background. He has obviously suffered a tremendous loss, and I want to find out what happened. I also want to know what will happen to him on those floating islands.

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on October 7, 2011, in Literature/Books, Quotes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wow, I cannot begin to tell you I have seen so many cats and so many readers then I ever have before blog hopping! I like the title of this book for sure. Sounds like my kind of book. Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful weekend.

