Booking through Thursday – Hard

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme in which we answer a question about books or reading.

What’s the hardest/most challenging book you’ve ever read? Was it worth the effort? Did you read it by choice or was it an assignment/obligation?

Lord of the Flies by William Golding. No doubt.

It was an assignement and I started hating it really, really fast. Finishing this one was one of the hardest things I ever did in school.

Most assigned books I really liked, some I didn’t much care for, but this one was the only one that I really detested. It certainly wasn’t worth the effort.

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on October 27, 2011, in Literature/Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I haven´t read it but really want to. So I´m curious of why you hate it so much.

  2. I didn’t much like the premise and was really disgusted by the way the story evolved. I don’t mind “dark” books, but this one was just totally wrong for me.

