Booking through Thursday – E-volution

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme in which we answer a question about books or reading.

E-readers like the Kindle and iPad are sweeping the nation โ€ฆ do you have one? Do you like it? Do you find it changes your reading/buying habits? If you donโ€™t have one, do you plan to?

My Kindle with new skin and cover.I have a Kindle, and I love it. It has changed my buying habits, but not really my reading habits.

Pre-Kindle I had almost stopped buying books, mostly because of space issues. I still read, but borrowed most of the books I read. After I got my Kindle I still don’t buy many p-books, just the few that I must have. I also still borrow at the library as there are books I’d like to read but not own. But my kindle-tbr-pile is growing all the time because I both buy books and subscripe to magazines on it, I’ve even bought e-book versions of some of my most beloved p-books, just so I know I have them with me wherever I take my Kindle.

I don’t plan to switch to a newer model anytime soon, but I’m sure I will some day.

I find it very comfortable to read on. The screen isn’t glaring, and that is something I like a lot. I prefer reading fiction on it, it’s very hard to read something where you might want to jump and back in the book a lot. This might improve on newer versions though, we’ll see.

iPad, no plans at all. I’ve tried one and didn’t like it much. Maybe an android device some day, but nothing iP…..

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on November 10, 2011, in Just life, Literature/Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Good answer. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hereโ€™s my Booking Through Thursday post. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I don’t have an e-reader, but can see how they would be the way to go if you travel a lot.

  3. I agree on the fiction vs. non-fiction assessment. In books I use for reference, I really prefer paper. Otherwise, though I far prefer reading on my Nook!

    Thanks for visiting ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I still read mostly print books, but love my Nook for traveling!!! Here’s my BTT.

  5. Enjoyed reading your answer, and lovely Kindle cover!

  6. I still prefer the actual book, but they are probably handy when traveling.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2011/11/booking-through-thursday_10.html

  7. As a rule, I don’t like gadgets, especially ones with glowing screens that make noises at me. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I understand some of the attraction, though, for people with space issues.

  8. So far, I’m really satisfied with my iPad – I don’t seem to have any trouble with the back-lighting that so many people complain about. The display is easily adjustable. But I have to admit, I’m toying with the idea of buying a Nook or Kindle in the not-too-distant future.

    Thanks for visiting my blog, and happy reading!

  9. I love my e-reader. I didn’t want one at first, but now I don’t see how I lived without it.

  10. FYI, Amazon has tons of kindle books that are available for free (for a short while). You might want to check them out, would save you a lot of change ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Yes, I know. There’s a few of those floating around on my Kindle at any given time ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Hi,

    I am a new fan. I found you over at Java’s ‘Over 40 Blogger’ List.

    I look forward to getting to know you through your blog posts. Hope you can stop by my blog when you get a chance. I post about all things related to being a grandma in mid-life, Peri-menopause, and newly retired.

    Oh…I have the original Kindle and just bought myself the Kindle Fire for my upcoming birthday. I am kind of excited about seeing color on the Kindle screen, reading magazines, etc. I think I actually read more now that I have the Kindle. I especially like that I can preview a book before buying…sort of like browsing in the library and reading a chapter or two to decide if I like the authors writing style, the story line etc.

    Space is a big factor for me as well. When we are traveling use to take a whole book bag of books, now I just take the Kindle.

    ~Anna

    http://IamNannyAnna.blogspot.com

