Saturday Snapshot – on the Book Boat

This weekend I’m revisiting some of the duties from my old job, pre August 2007. Back then I used to work on the book boat Epos for a few weeks every year. It’s fun being back again, if only for two days.

Like everyone else working on Epos I have to try on a survival suit to make sure I know how to get into one. Flattering it's not.

 
 

Today we had a visit from the winter storm Berit. If we hadn't had a good system for securing the books we'd have even more lying all over the floor. By Miromurr, shared under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Saturday snapshotThis meme is hosted by Alyce from At Home With Books

To participate in Saturday Snapshot meme post a photo that you (or a friend or family member) have taken. Photos can be old or new, and can be of any subject as long as they are clean and appropriate for all eyes to see. How much detail you give in the caption is entirely up to you. All Alyce asks is that you don’t post random photos that you find online.

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on November 26, 2011, in Just life, Photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Ha-ha! Funny fashion statement.

    Why did the storm cause the books to dump? Was it an earthquake storm?

  2. We’re on a boat, in storms they move around a lot 🙂

  3. Wow, that is quite the scattering of books! And what a strange looking survival suit – definitely not made for fashion!

  4. How cool is this!!! Not that the books spilled…or even your cute suit…but that a bookboat even exists!! Love it!!

  5. What a cool job! (Even if you did have to wear a funny suit.) Great pictures, too.

    Here’s my snapshot.

  6. That survival suit is pretty cool. I’ve never seen anything like it!

  7. Luckily I could take it off again as soon as I’d put it on. Wouldn’t like to have to wear it for a long time. Felt a bit like a penguin.

  8. What a unique job. Love your outfit.

  9. I love the idea of a book boat! Is the survival suit supposed to be like a wet suit?

    Here’s my Snapshot: http://myreadersblock.blogspot.com/2011/11/saturday-snapshot-november-26.html

  10. A book boat! I want to be in one! You look so cool in that suit!

    Here is my Saturday
    Snapshot
    post!

  11. LOL….I had tried one of these on years ago, but it was black (still wasn’t exactly slimming on me)

  12. I’d love to visit a book boat. It sounds great.

    I guess if you really have to wear the suit to survive, you won’t be too worried about what you look like. I hope you don’t have to pick up those books too often.

