Meet me on Monday : Christmas Edition

Meet me on Monday!! is a meme sponsored by Never Growing Old.

She says: “Blogging is a funny thing…we tell our most intimate thoughts for all to read and yet most of the time I find myself sitting and wondering, “who is this person!?” I know them…but yet I don’t know them! I want to know who the person is behind all those words so I thought of a great way for all of us to “meet” each other!

Every Sunday Never Growing Old will post five get to know you questions that you can copy and paste into your own Monday post and we can all learn a little more about each and every one of us!!

Today’s questions and answers:

Winter solstice tree by Dimland. Shared under CC BY-NC-ND 2.5

1. Wrapping paper or gift bags?
Both, depending on the gift and what I have available.

2. Real or artificial tree?
Real. I want an artificial one, but Kristin says NO.

3. When do you put your tree up?
On December 23rd. I don’t like starting christmas too early and would have preferred the morning of christmas eve, but I got voted down again. I don’t think many Norwegians put them up much before christmas, so we find it odd that some people have them up for a month or so before.

4. When do you take your tree down?
Around the 21st day of christmas (around January 14th). As mentioned, I don’t like starting too early, but I do want to keep all the lights and decorations around for a while.

5. Do you like eggnog?
In VERY small amounts. For a traditional christmas drink I prefer Gløgg.

6. Do you have a nativity scene?
I think Kristin has a small one. We try to keep our home and decorations secular, but she has the odd lapses into old habits.

7. Favorite Christmas Movie?
Love Actually.

Some of my baking from last christmas.

8 .Favorite Christmas cookie?
Not really. There are several I like, but no favorites.

9. Where will you eat Christmas dinner?
We will eat at home. Kristin’s mother and sister w/family are coming to our place on christmas eve.

10. Angel, bow or star on top of your tree?
Star.

11. Most annoying thing about this time of the year?
That it’s so dark, cold and slippery outside.

12. Do you like Fruitcake?
Yes. Well, most of them.

Solan is going to love having a tree inside.

13. What are you most excited about the holidays?
Celebrating christmas with Kristin in our own home for the first time. Since we got together we’ve been spending christmas eve apart, I’m looking forward to the end of that. I’m also looking forward to (or dreading, can’t decide…) Solan’s reaction to getting a tree inside.

14. Do you open presents Christmas Eve or Christmas Morning?
Christmas eve. That’s the traditional Norwegian way, and then we can sleep in on christmas morning.

15. Will you still be wrapping presents on Christmas Eve?
Nope. I’m delivering the last one today. This year I’ve been good.

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on December 19, 2011, in Just life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’m confused, how many days does your Christmas last if you take down the tree on the 21st day of Christmas? I think people put the trees up so early here because they immediately take them down once Christmas day is over.

  2. The 21st day of christmas is January 14th, so our christmas last for 3 weeks 🙂

  3. I was surprised to see how early people put up their Christmas trees too.
    A very Merry Christmas to you, Kristen and Solan.

  4. I love the movie ” Love Actually”. That is a great Christmas movie. Full of hope and love 🙂

  5. I was going through MMOM withdrawl – so I’ve resurrected it on Acting Balanced until Java starts posting again – please feel free to stop by and check out this week’s questions at http://www.actingbalanced.com/2012/02/meet-me-on-monday.html

