Booking through Thursday – Skipping

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme in which we answer a question about books or reading.

I saw this article the other day that asked, “Are you ashamed of skipping parts of books?” Which, naturally, made me want to ask all of YOU.

Do you skip ahead in a book? Do you feel badly about it when you do?

I sometimes do skip ahead, for a few different reasons.

Descriptions of how people look tend to make me impatient. I really don’t care about that kind of information, at least not when it takes more than two sentences, so I skip it.

Relationship angst, loves me, loves me not…. – aaaargh!!!! Skip.

When a book is really exciting I tend to skip ahead because I can’t wait to see what happens. At those times skipping is really a sort of compliment to the book.

I don’t feel bad about skipping. I don’t do it that much, and when I do it makes me happier with a book than I would otherwise have been.

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on January 19, 2012, in Just life, Literature/Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi Eva,

    Great question, I often ask myself whether many other bloggers do actually skip pages, or even whole sections of a book.

    People seem to post reviews with such consistently amazing regularity, that they must either be extremely good speed readers, or they skip pages.

    Personally, I like to read every word of a book. I read mainly for enjoyment, not to see how many books I can complete in as short a time as possible and for me, much of the enjoyment is to read, savour and enjoy each and every word.

    I always read descriptive passages of writing carefully, as the quality of the language used is often a good direct indicator of the ability and quality of the author.

    I am also a stickler for good spelling and grammar. I hate it when an author publishes a book which has obviously been either poorly edited, or I am sure in many cases, not proof read or edited at all. In these fast moving times of self-publishing and e-publishing, I am finding that this is a problem which is becoming increasingly widespread

