Booking through Thursday : Own or borrow

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme in which we answer a question about books or reading.

All things being equal (money, space, etc), would you rather own copies of the books you read? Or borrow them?

Both!

On a more serious note: That depends on my relationship with the book and the author. There are authors I want to own everything by. Then there are single books that I fall so much in love with when I read them that I have to have my own copy and books that I develop such a serious crush on in a bookstore that I just have to buy it, but mostly I’m fine with borrowing books.

I notice that I buy more books after getting a Kindle. Too quick and easy, and they don’t take up a lot of room. The result, of course, is that there are several books on my Kindle that I’d been fine with borrowing instead of buying. There are also some I would have bought anyway.

So, I guess the answer is still Both!

About mostraum

Librarian, reader, atheist, blogger, golfer, lesbian, geek.

Posted on June 9, 2011, in Literature/Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Ah, the e book is an interesting thing for me. I think I just like to have my books physically but if it’s on an ebook, I wouldn’t mind just borrowing since it’s not the tangible piece. Interesting!

  2. Hi! Nice answer. Just visiting you…

  3. I mostly borrow books. But I’d like to own a whole lot more of them:) My BTT post.

  4. I do selective hoarding NOW! I already own more than 2500 books!

    Here is my BTT: Own or Borrow post!

  5. Me too! I am selective in what I purchase, but I do love to fill the bookshelves!

    Booking Through Thursday

  6. I’m a hoarder so I’d like to own them all! I agree that ebooks are easier to buy since they don’t take up space.

  7. Yeah, I’m the same – there are some authors that I would buy anything they write – I’ll bitch and moan about it if the book turns out not up to par, but I’ll be first in line nevertheless for the next book!